Not legal advice. Insurance and locksmith-board rules change. Boards update minimums. Cities and property managers stack COI asks on top of state law. This is 2026 research from statutes, board materials, and DOI guidance — call your state DOI, locksmith / private-security board, and city before you bid a market or sign a property-manager exhibit.

The short version

New Jersey locksmith business: $500k GL + $10k bond (alarm or combined jumps to $1M GL). Illinois IDFPR: $1M CGL on DE-INS. Virginia DCJS: $1M general aggregate. Texas Ch. 1702 company floors: $100k / $50k / $200k agg (bond dollar unverified in current statute). California: BSIS company path has no verified statewide GL floor; CSLB C-28 when site work > $500 brings $25k bond (LLCs also ≥$1M GL). Maryland $300k, Louisiana $500k, Alabama $250k, Oregon $15k bond + $100k GL. NYC licenses through May 31, 2027 with no checklist GL/bond dollar. Everywhere else: soft language — no locksmith-specific floor verified — market still wants $1M/$2M. And “bonded” is not the same as insured.

You just opened Mrs. Henderson’s front door at 1:17 a.m. She is crying with relief. Her Pomeranian is barking. Your van is parked half on the curb. Somewhere in that driveway is every reason property managers, HOAs, and national accounts ask for a COI before they let you near a master key.

Locksmith insurance is not “contractor insurance with a different logo.” You carry keys to people’s homes. You open safes. You rekey after break-ins. You run after-hours vans that personal auto policies love to deny. Trust is the product. Coverage is how you keep the shop when trust goes sideways.

Here’s the honest part most blogs bury: most U.S. states have no statewide locksmith license and no locksmith-specific insurance floor. What you actually face is (a) workers’ comp for employers, (b) commercial auto for the vans, (c) locksmith / private-security / contractor board floors where they exist, and (d) whatever the property manager typed into the exhibit. License minimum ≠ customer minimum. Texas’s Chapter 1702 floors will not impress a national account asking for $1M/$2M plus additional insured.

This guide is the 2026 map — board floors where primary sources publish dollars, soft language where the data is thin, the “bonded locksmith” myth killed properly, and the access-control tripwire that turns a locksmith COI into an alarm problem. Sister post for the license card itself: Locksmith License Requirements by State (2026).

Why locksmith insurance is different

A plumber floods a basement. A garage-door tech drops a spring. A locksmith walks into a house with a key that opens every other unit on the floor. That trust gap is why institutional clients obsess over COIs, fidelity coverage, and “bonded” language — and why shops that only buy the cheapest GL get surprised when a bank or property manager asks for employee dishonesty.

What insurance locksmith companies actually buy

Ignore the van-door sticker that says “Bonded & Insured” until you can name the actual policy. Real shops buy a stack — and boards only mandate pieces of it.

LineWhat it coversTypical askLegal status
Commercial General Liability (CGL)Bodily injury & property damage to customers/third parties; premises & ops; products/completed operations (claim after the rekey / install)$1M / $2M on most property-manager / HOA / GC / national-account COIsIndustry practice / contract in most states. A minority of locksmith / private-security / contractor boards set lower or specific license floors (see High-stakes)
Workers’ CompensationEmployee injuries (ladders, door hardware, vehicle loading, dog bites, night lockouts)Statutory + employers’ liability (often $100k/$500k/$100k on COIs)State law once the employee threshold is met (often 1+; TX optional for most private employers). Some boards also want a WC certificate on the company license (e.g., LA OSFM when applicable)
Commercial AutoService vans/trucks used for business / lockout runsOften $1M CSL on commercial / property-manager jobsState financial-responsibility minimums for all drivers; commercial limits mostly contract-driven. Personal auto usually excludes business use
Umbrella / ExcessExtra limits above GL + auto$1M–$5M on larger commercial / multi-family / institutional accountsOptional unless contract requires
Inland Marine / ToolsLocksmith tools, key machines, code books, inventory, mobile shop equipment in vansCommonly scheduled; often $5k–$50k+ depending on fleetOptional but strongly recommended — mobile tools are theft magnets
Fidelity / Employee Dishonesty / CrimeTheft of customer property or business funds by an employee; sometimes sold as a “business services bond”Property managers / banks / institutional clients sometimes requireNot a substitute for CGL. Not the same as a license surety bond. Rarely a statewide locksmith-license mandate
Surety / License BondConsumer / performance / compliance protection tied to a locksmith or contractor license$10k–$25k range where required (NJ $10k; OR $15k; CA CSLB $25k)Only where the statute / board requires
E&O / Professional LiabilityMistakes in advice, system design, access-control programming, documentationSometimes asked when shops do electronic access / master-key system designNot a universal locksmith-license mandate. Real product when work is advisory / design-heavy — verify with your agent

Rule of thumb: Never present $1M/$2M as a “national legal requirement.” It is the market default. Boards can (and do) set lower floors. Contracts can (and do) demand higher.

Bonded vs insured vs fidelity — kill the myth

Van doors love the phrase “Bonded & Insured.” Customers hear comfort. Boards hear paperwork. Carriers hear three different products.

Never treat “bonded locksmith” as proof of $1M liability. Cite the actual policy or bond form. A NJ $10k license bond does not replace CGL. A fidelity product for a bank account does not replace completed-ops.

What customers and property managers ask for on a COI

Industry practice — not law unless your board also says so:

Homeowners (and anyone hiring a tradesperson) should ask for proof of liability and WC and verify with the insurer — straight from NAIC contractor scam guidance. A pretty ACORD 25 is evidence, not the policy.

Alarm / access-control insurance tripwire

Installing electronic access control, mag locks, keypads, CCTV, or burglar/fire alarm work often triggers a separate license category and sometimes a higher insurance floor.

If the shop sells/installs monitored alarms or life-safety fire systems, verify alarm / electrical / fire marshal licenses and insurance — do not assume the locksmith COI alone is enough.

High-stakes deep dives

New Jersey — $500k / $1M GL + $10k bond

Locksmith business: general liability ≥ $500,000, and insurance coverage or surety bond in favor of the State of New Jersey for $10,000 (N.J.A.C. 13:31A-2.6). Alarm business: GL ≥ $1,000,000 + $10,000. Alarm and locksmith combined: GL ≥ $1,000,000 + $10,000. Certificate holder: Fire Alarm, Burglar Alarm and Locksmith Advisory Committee, 124 Halsey Street, Newark, NJ 07102. Sources: N.J.A.C. 13:31A-2.6, NJ business license application PDF.

Illinois — IDFPR $1M on DE-INS

Proof of comprehensive CGL with a minimum of $1,000,000, covering bodily injury, property damage, and personal injury; submitted on supporting document DE-INS. Insurance must be in the name of the individual licensee. Firearm-related extensions apply if firearms are carried. Source: IDFPR locksmith packet PDF.

Virginia — DCJS $1M aggregate

Certificate of insurance reflecting DCJS as certificate holder; comprehensive general liability with a minimum of $1 million of general aggregate liability insurance (6VAC20-172-40). Failure to maintain required insurance can void the license. Source: 6VAC20-172-40.

Texas — Chapter 1702 company floors (bond dollar soft)

Minimum limits: $100,000 each occurrence BI/PD; $50,000 each occurrence personal injury; total aggregate $200,000 (§1702.124). Must also maintain insurance sufficient to cover all private-security-related business activities. Bond: chapter requires the surety bond and COI on file; current §1702.125 does not state a dollar amount — verify the live DPS application before publishing a bond dollar. WC optional for most private employers as nonsubscribers (with notice traps). Sources: Occ. Code §1702.124, TDI nonsubscribers.

California — BSIS + CSLB dual path

BSIS locksmith company / employee registration: fact sheet reviewed does not list a statewide GL dollar floor for the BSIS company license. Site work over $500 triggers CSLB (often C-28) — $25,000 contractor bond. LLC contractors: additional $100,000 worker bond + liability cumulative limit ≥ $1 million (scaling to $5M). WC with employees; phase-in to all CSLB licensees by 1/1/2028 under current framework (confirm live bulletin). Sources: BSIS fact sheet, CSLB bonds, CSLB LLC.

Alabama / Louisiana / Maryland / Oregon

Alabama AESBL: company GL ≥ $250,000, address on declarations (AESBL how to get licensed). Louisiana OSFM: firm GL ≥ $500,000 + WC when applicable (PPE locksmith PDF). Maryland: GL ≥ $300,000 for licensed locksmiths (MD Labor FAQs). Oregon CCB residential locksmith services contractor: bond $15,000 + GL ≥ $100,000 + certified locksmith RMI (ORS 701.081).

New York City — LL183 soft on insurance

Through May 31, 2027: individual Locksmith License via NYC DCWP. Checklist does not list a surety bond or mandatory GL dollar. Local Law 183 of 2025: individual licensing ends May 31, 2027; Locksmith Business license applications expected February 2027 — insurance/bond for the new category not published as of this research date. New York State has no statewide locksmith license. Sources: DCWP checklist, LL183 note. Tri-state license deep dive: NY / NJ locksmith license (2026).

Soft / thin states (verify before you treat a blog number as gospel)

Use soft language (“confirm with the board / city / your agent”) for jurisdictions where no locksmith-specific insurance or bond dollar was verified on a primary .gov source for this pack:

AK, AZ*, AR, CO, DE, DC, FL*, GA, HI, ID, IN, IA, KS, KY, ME, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO*, MT, NE, NV*, NH, NM, NC* (license without verified insurance floor), ND, OH, OK* (license without verified insurance floor), PA, RI, SC, SD, TN (repealed), UT*, VT, WA*, WV, WI, WY, CT* (registration without insurance floor), NYC* (license without checklist insurance floor).

* = licensing or contractor-adjacent rules may still apply; re-check before publishing hard numbers.

Hard-number / high-stakes insurance or bond states verified on primary sources for this pack:

StateVerified floorInstrument
AL$250k GLAESBL company
CACSLB $25k bond + LLC ≥$1M GL path; BSIS license separate (no verified BSIS GL floor)Dual BSIS + CSLB
IL$1M GLIDFPR DE-INS
LA$500k GLOSFM PPE locksmith
MD$300k GLMD Labor locksmith
NJ$500k / $1M GL + $10k bondDCA locksmith / alarm
OR$15k bond + $100k GLCCB residential locksmith
TX$100k / $50k / $200k agg GL (bond dollar unverified in current §1702.125)DPS Ch. 1702 company
VA$1M general aggregate GLDCJS private security

Property managers and GCs commonly still ask $1M/$2M even when the license floor is lower or absent. That is contract reality, not a federal locksmith statute.

Pitfalls that sink locksmith shops

  1. “Bonded” ads without liability insurance. A surety or fidelity product does not replace CGL. Customers and boards care about different instruments.
  2. Personal auto for lockout vans. Personal policies often exclude business use. After-hours mobile locksmithing without commercial auto is a claim denial waiting to happen.
  3. License floor ≠ commercial COI. Passing TX $100k/$200k or MD $300k does not satisfy a property manager asking for $1M/$2M + additional insured + waiver.
  4. Assuming NYC / Nassau / NJ are the same. NYC is city DCWP; NJ is statewide DCA committee with hard GL + bond; NYS has no statewide locksmith license.
  5. Crossing into alarm / access control on a locksmith-only COI. Keypads, mag locks, monitored alarms, and CCTV can require separate licenses and higher GL (classic trap in NJ and TX classifications).
  6. Misclassifying 1099 “contractors” who are really employees. WC boards and labor audits punish misclassification. One injured “contractor” can sink the shop.
  7. LLC myth (“my LLC is my insurance”). An LLC does not pay medical bills or property damage claims. Carry CGL + WC as required.
  8. Tools uninsured (no inland marine). Key machines, code tools, and truck stock are theft targets. Inland marine is practice — not usually a license statute.
  9. Letting insurance lapse while the license is active. NJ, VA, TX, IL, LA, AL, MD, OR (and others) can suspend/void licenses when required coverage drops. Put the board as certificate holder / notice party where required.
  10. California dual-license gap. BSIS locksmith company license alone does not replace CSLB when the job exceeds the $500 contractor threshold — and CSLB brings bond (and for LLCs, $1M GL) duties.
  11. Fidelity gap on institutional accounts. Banks, schools, and property managers may demand employee dishonesty / crime coverage. Not the same as the NJ $10k license bond.
  12. Inventing E&O because a blog said so. E&O is real for design-heavy access-control / master-key consulting — but most locksmith license statutes reviewed for this pack mandate CGL and/or surety, not professional liability. Say “ask your agent” unless a primary source requires it.

Keep After-Hours Dispatch Clean While You Stay Compliant

Insurance keeps you in the game. Dispatch keeps the vans moving on lockouts. Vortech Pro is field dispatch for locksmith shops — $99/mo includes 5 techs. Add techs at +$20. No contracts. No upsells.

All 50 states + DC

Tags: req = clear locksmith-board / statute insurance or bond floor found on a primary source; local = license or contractor-adjacent rules exist but insurance dollars soft / city-heavy; no = no locksmith-specific statewide insurance mandate verified / thin data (still carry market coverage).

Jump to your state

Red = board/law floor verified. Orange = license/local with soft insurance dollars. Green = no locksmith-specific floor verified / soft data (still insure for the market).

Alabama AESBL $250k GL

Agency: Alabama AESBL — How to Get Licensed

AESBL company license for locksmith / electronic security requires proof of at least $250,000 general liability insurance, with the company’s physical address on the declaration page. That is a real board floor — not a blog guess. Property managers still ask $1M/$2M on commercial COIs.

WC: Confirm AL DOL (~5+ general private; verify for your entity).

GL: Required ≥ $250k (AESBL company).

Bond / other: Not cited as the primary AESBL company path on the How to Get Licensed page — confirm live packet.

Alaska Thin / Soft

Agency: Alaska DOL / DOI — general business rules

No statewide locksmith license and no locksmith-specific insurance floor verified on a primary source for this pack. Soft language. WC still applies with employees. Market COIs still want $1M/$2M.

WC: Required with employees.

GL: Recommended / contract — no verified statewide locksmith floor.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Arizona Soft / Confirm ROC

Agency: AZ ROC / ADOL

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Registrar of Contractors rules may apply if the work is contractor-classified — confirm ROC category before inventing dollars. Soft language. Market still $1M/$2M.

WC: Required with employees.

GL: Recommended / contract; verify ROC if a contractor license applies.

Bond / other: Contractor bond only if ROC-licensed.

Arkansas Thin / Soft

Agency: Arkansas DOL / DOI

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. WC/employer rules still apply. Market COIs dominate at $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm ADOL (~3+ general).

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

California BSIS + CSLB Dual Path

Agency: BSIS Locksmith Fact Sheet / CSLB Bonds / CSLB LLC

BSIS licenses locksmith companies and registers employees (background / Live Scan). The BSIS locksmith fact sheet reviewed for this pack does not list a statewide GL dollar floor for the BSIS company license itself. If company work at a single site exceeds $500, a CSLB contractor license (often C-28 Lock and Security Equipment) also applies — bringing the $25,000 contractor bond (B&P §7071.6). LLC contractors need an additional $100,000 LLC employee/worker bond and liability insurance with a cumulative limit of at least $1 million (scaling with personnel of record up to $5M). WC with employees; universal WC phase-in for licensed contractors reaches all licensees by January 1, 2028 under the current CSLB / SB 216 framework (confirm live CSLB WC bulletin).

WC: CSLB / Labor Code — employees now; all CSLB licensees by 1/1/2028 under current phase-in (confirm live bulletin).

GL: Recommended for BSIS path; required for LLC CSLB licensees (≥ $1M cumulative per B&P 7071.19).

Bond / other: Required $25k CSLB contractor bond when C-28/CSLB license held; LLC +$100k worker bond.

Colorado Thin / Soft

Agency: Colorado DORA / DOI

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. WC with employees. Market still $1M/$2M.

WC: Required with employees.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Connecticut DCP Registration — No GL Floor

Agency: Conn. Gen. Stat. Ch. 400p / CT DCP

DCP locksmith registration (C.G.S. §20-691): background check + $200 fee (biennial). Statute text reviewed: no GL dollar or surety-bond mandate for locksmith registration. Soft language — license yes, insurance floor not verified. Market still $1M/$2M.

WC: Required with employees.

GL: Recommended / contract (no verified registration floor).

Bond / other: Not in §20-691.

Delaware Thin / Soft

Agency: Delaware DOL / DOI

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Required with employees.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

District of Columbia Thin / Soft

Agency: DC business licensing portals / DC DOES

Local business licensing / documentation may apply for locksmith operation. No DC-wide locksmith GL dollar verified on a primary fetch for this pack — soft language. Market still $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm DC DOES.

GL: Recommended / contract; verify DCRA / relevant board checklist.

Bond / other: Verify.

Florida No Statewide License — Local/Contract

Agency: Florida DBPR (if contractor class applies); county occupational licensing / CFO Division of WC

No statewide locksmith license. County/city occupational licenses and contractor rules may apply for certain installs. Soft language on statewide floors — verify counties (especially large metros). Market COIs dominate at $1M/$2M.

WC: Construction industry often 1+; confirm CFO Division of WC.

GL: Recommended / contract / local.

Bond / other: Local / contract.

Georgia Thin / Soft

Agency: Georgia Secretary of State / DOL

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Local licensing possible. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm GA State Board of WC.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Hawaii Thin / Soft

Agency: Hawaii DCCA / DLIR

No statewide locksmith-specific insurance floor verified. Soft language. WC Chapter 386 applies with employees. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Required with employees.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Idaho Thin / Soft

Agency: Idaho DOL / DOI / Industrial Commission

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm ID Industrial Commission.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Illinois IDFPR $1M GL

Agency: IDFPR Locksmith Packet (PDF) / DE-INS form

IDFPR locksmith license under the Private Detective, Private Alarm, Private Security, Fingerprint Vendor, and Locksmith Act: proof of comprehensive commercial general liability with a minimum of $1,000,000, covering bodily injury, property damage, and personal injury; submitted on supporting document DE-INS. Insurance must be in the name of the individual licensee. Firearm-related extensions apply if firearms are carried.

WC: Required with employees; IDFPR asks about WC compliance on applications.

GL: Required $1M.

Bond / other: Not the primary IDFPR locksmith path cited.

Indiana Thin / Soft

Agency: Indiana DWD / DOI / WC Board

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm IN WC Board.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Iowa Thin / Soft

Agency: Iowa Workforce Development / Division of WC

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm Iowa Division of WC.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Kansas Thin / Soft

Agency: Kansas DOL / DOI

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm KDOL (threshold varies).

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Kentucky Thin / Soft

Agency: Kentucky Labor Cabinet / DWC

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm KY DWC.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Louisiana OSFM $500k GL

Agency: LA OSFM PPE Locksmith Checklist (PDF) / Life Safety & Property Protection

Office of State Fire Marshal Property Protection / locksmith firm endorsement: General Liability certificate minimum $500,000; description of operations must note “Life Safety & Property Protection”; current physical address on certificate. WC required when applicable (owner-only firms may not need WC per OSFM checklist). Checklist also covers mechanical & electronic locking and CCTV under the locksmith PPE path.

WC: Required when employees (OSFM checklist).

GL: Required $500k.

Bond / other: Not the primary dollar cited on the PPE locksmith checklist.

Maine Thin / Soft

Agency: Maine DOL / DOI / Workers’ Comp Board

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm Maine Workers’ Comp Board.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Maryland MD Labor $300k GL

Agency: Maryland DOL Locksmith Licensing FAQs

Each licensed locksmith must maintain general liability insurance of at least $300,000 (original license, renewal, and good standing). MD Labor FAQ #13 confirms insurance yes; a surety bond is not required by that FAQ. Market commercial COIs still sit at $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm MD WCC.

GL: Required $300k.

Bond / other: Not required by MD Labor FAQ #13 (insurance yes).

Massachusetts Thin / Soft

Agency: Mass. DOS / DIA

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Local permits possible. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Required with employees.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Michigan Thin / Soft

Agency: Michigan LARA / Workers’ Disability Compensation Agency

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm MI Workers’ Disability Compensation Agency.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Minnesota Thin / Soft

Agency: Minnesota DLI

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm MN DLI.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Mississippi Thin / Soft

Agency: Mississippi WC Commission

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm MWCC (~5+ general).

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Missouri Soft / Municipal

Agency: Missouri DOLIR / city license pages

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language on municipal rules — St. Louis / Kansas City areas may license locally. Verify the city. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm MO DOLIR.

GL: Recommended / contract / local.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Montana Thin / Soft

Agency: Montana DLI / Employment Relations Division

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm MT Employment Relations Division.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Nebraska Thin / Soft

Agency: Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm NE Workers’ Comp Court.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

COIs Sorted. Vans Still Need a Brain.

License floors keep the board happy. Dispatch keeps Friday-night lockouts from becoming Saturday chaos. Vortech Pro — $99/mo includes 5 techs. Add techs at +$20. No contracts. No upsells.

Nevada Sheriff Permit — Soft Dollars

Agency: NRS Chapter 655 / Clark County regulated business guide

NRS Ch. 655 — locksmiths/safe mechanics obtain a sheriff-issued permit (county). No uniform statewide GL/bond dollar verified in NRS 655 for this pack. Clark County / LVMPD regulated business processes apply locally — soft language; verify your county.

WC: Confirm NV DIR.

GL: Recommended / contract / county.

Bond / other: County-specific — verify.

New Hampshire Thin / Soft

Agency: New Hampshire DOL

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm NH DOL.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

New Jersey $500k/$1M GL + $10k Bond

Agency: N.J.A.C. 13:31A-2.6 / NJ DCA Business License Application (PDF)

Fire Alarm, Burglar Alarm and Locksmith Advisory Committee (DCA). Locksmith business: GL ≥ $500,000 and insurance coverage or surety bond in favor of the State of New Jersey for $10,000. Alarm business: GL ≥ $1,000,000 + $10,000 bond/insurance. Alarm and locksmith combined: GL ≥ $1,000,000 + $10,000. Certificate holder: Fire Alarm, Burglar Alarm and Locksmith Advisory Committee, 124 Halsey Street, Newark, NJ 07102. Crossing into keypads / mag locks / monitored alarms is the classic NJ tripwire that jumps you to the $1M path.

WC: Required with employees.

GL: Required $500k (locksmith) / $1M (alarm or combined).

Bond / other: Required $10k (or equivalent insurance payable to the State).

New Mexico Thin / Soft

Agency: New Mexico WCA / RLD

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm NM WCA.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

New York NYC License — No Checklist GL Floor

Agency: NYC DCWP Locksmith Checklist / Local Law 183 note / NYS WCB

No New York State statewide locksmith license. NYC DCWP currently licenses individual locksmiths through May 31, 2027. The official DCWP Locksmith License Application Checklist lists photo ID, passport photo, proof of qualifications, fees — it does not list a surety bond or mandatory GL dollar for the locksmith license itself. Local Law 183 of 2025: DCWP stops licensing individual locksmiths May 31, 2027; new Locksmith Business license category; applications expected February 2027. Insurance/bond for the new business license: not published as of this research date — soft language; re-check DCWP. Nassau County and other localities may differ — verify. Market still $1M/$2M.

WC: Required with employees (NYS WCB).

GL: Recommended / contract; NYC license itself does not list a GL floor on the DCWP checklist.

Bond / other: Not on the NYC DCWP locksmith checklist.

North Carolina NCLLB License — No Verified GL Floor

Agency: NC Locksmith Licensing Board

Statewide individual locksmith licensing (G.S. Ch. 74F). Board application materials reviewed focus on exam / fingerprint / ethics — no verified statewide GL or surety-bond dollar as a license precondition. Soft language; confirm the live NCLLB application packet. Market still $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm NCIC.

GL: Recommended / contract (floor not verified).

Bond / other: Not verified as a statewide license requirement.

North Dakota Thin / Soft

Agency: North Dakota WSI

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. ND WSI is a monopolistic fund state for many employers. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm ND WSI (monopolistic fund for many employers).

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Ohio Thin / Soft

Agency: Ohio BWC

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Local registrations possible. Ohio BWC is the monopolistic state fund for most private employers. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm BWC (Ohio monopolistic state fund for most private employers).

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Oklahoma ODOL License — No Verified GL Floor

Agency: ODOL Alarm, Locksmith & Fire Sprinkler Licensing

Statewide company + individual licensing (backgrounds, exams by category: locksmith, electronic access control, CCTV, burglar alarm, etc.). Act/rules PDF reviewed for this pack: no verified statewide GL or bond dollar floor for locksmith company licenses. Soft language — confirm current ODOL application packet. Market still $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm OK CompSource / private WC market rules.

GL: Recommended / contract (floor not verified).

Bond / other: Not verified as a statewide locksmith requirement.

Oregon CCB $15k Bond + $100k GL

Agency: ORS 701.081 / Oregon CCB

Construction Contractors Board residential locksmith services contractor shall: surety bond $15,000; general liability insurance not less than $100,000; responsible managing individual certified as a locksmith under ORS 701.485 (ORS 701.081(5)). That $100k board floor will not clear a commercial COI asking for $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm OR Workers’ Comp Division.

GL: Required ≥ $100k.

Bond / other: Required $15k.

Pennsylvania Thin / Soft

Agency: Pennsylvania L&I / Bureau of WC

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Local business licenses possible. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm PA Bureau of WC.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Rhode Island Thin / Soft

Agency: Rhode Island DLT

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm RI DLT.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

South Carolina Thin / Soft

Agency: South Carolina Workers’ Comp Commission

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm SC Workers’ Comp Commission.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

South Dakota Thin / Soft

Agency: South Dakota DOL

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm SD DOL.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Tennessee Repealed 2021 — Soft

Agency: TN General Assembly repeal materials / TN Bureau of WC

Tennessee Locksmith Licensing Act repealed (effective May 27, 2021). No current statewide locksmith license / bond floor. Soft language for any leftover municipal rules. Local business licensing and market COIs still apply at $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm TN Bureau of WC (~5+ general).

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Not statewide for locksmiths post-repeal.

Texas Ch. 1702 GL Floors

Agency: Tex. Occ. Code §1702.124 / DPS Private Security / RSD

DPS Private Security locksmith company under Occupations Code Chapter 1702. Statute insurance minimums: $100,000 each occurrence bodily injury and property damage; $50,000 each occurrence personal injury; total aggregate $200,000 for all occurrences — plus insurance sufficient to cover all private-security-related business activities. §1702.123 still requires the company license holder to maintain on file the surety bond and certificate of insurance required by the chapter; current §1702.125 addresses bond termination notice and does not state a dollar amount — do not invent a $5k/$10k bond figure; verify the live DPS / RSD application checklist. Electronic access control and alarm are separate classifications. WC is optional for most private employers (nonsubscriber rules) — liability for the company license is not.

WC: Optional for most private employers (Labor Code Ch. 406) — still recommend / contract-driven. See TDI nonsubscribers.

GL: Required (company license minimums above).

Bond / other: Chapter references bond on file — dollar unverified in current statute text; verify DPS application.

Utah Soft / Municipal

Agency: Utah Labor Commission; city license pages

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language on municipal rules — some cities (e.g., Provo historically) may license locally. Verify the city. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm Utah Labor Commission.

GL: Recommended / contract / local.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Vermont Thin / Soft

Agency: Vermont DOL

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm VT DOL.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Virginia DCJS $1M Aggregate

Agency: 6VAC20-172-40 / DCJS Business Licensing

DCJS Private Security Services locksmith category. Business license application: certificate of insurance reflecting the department as certificate holder; comprehensive general liability with a minimum of $1 million of general aggregate liability insurance (6VAC20-172-40). Failure to maintain required insurance can void the license under DCJS business standards.

WC: Confirm VA Workers’ Comp Commission.

GL: Required $1M general aggregate.

Bond / other: Not the primary DCJS path cited in 6VAC20-172-40.

Washington Soft / Confirm L&I Registration

Agency: Washington L&I

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language — L&I contractor registration may apply for certain construction-adjacent work; confirm whether your locksmith work requires registration. If registration applies, use L&I insurance/bond schedules (do not invent locksmith-specific amounts). Market $1M/$2M.

WC: WA L&I industrial insurance (state fund for most).

GL: Recommended / contract; contractor registration has its own insurance/bond rules if registration is required.

Bond / other: If L&I contractor registration applies — use L&I schedules.

West Virginia Thin / Soft

Agency: West Virginia OIC / WC

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm WV Offices of the Insurance Commissioner / WC.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Wisconsin Thin / Soft

Agency: Wisconsin DWD

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: Confirm WI Dept. of Workforce Development.

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

Wyoming Thin / Soft

Agency: Wyoming Department of Workforce Services

No statewide locksmith license insurance floor verified. Soft language. WY Workers’ Comp is a monopolistic fund for many employers. Market $1M/$2M.

WC: WY Workers’ Comp (monopolistic fund for many employers).

GL: Recommended / contract.

Bond / other: Verify local.

FAQ

Do I need $1M/$2M liability if my state only requires $300k (or nothing)?

For the license, meet the board minimum (or none, if your state has no locksmith insurance floor). For customers / property managers / GCs, the market ask is often still $1M per occurrence / $2M aggregate. License floor ≠ contract floor. See also NAIC contractor guidance.

What does New Jersey require for a locksmith business?

GL ≥ $500,000 plus $10,000 surety bond or equivalent insurance payable to the State of New Jersey (N.J.A.C. 13:31A-2.6). Alarm or combined alarm+locksmith businesses need $1,000,000 GL plus the $10,000 bond/insurance. Sources: N.J.A.C. 13:31A-2.6; NJ application PDF.

What are Texas locksmith company insurance numbers?

Tex. Occ. Code §1702.124: $100,000 per occurrence BI/PD; $50,000 per occurrence personal injury; $200,000 aggregate — plus coverage sufficient for all private-security business activities. Bond dollars are not stated in current §1702.125; verify the DPS application before publishing a bond amount. Source: §1702.124.

Does Illinois really require $1 million?

Yes for locksmith licensure under IDFPR materials: comprehensive CGL with a minimum of $1,000,000, filed on form DE-INS, in the name of the individual licensee. Source: IDFPR locksmith packet PDF.

Is a “bonded locksmith” the same as insured?

No. A surety bond guarantees performance/compliance to an obligee up to the bond amount (you repay the surety). Liability insurance defends/pays covered third-party claims. Fidelity / employee dishonesty addresses certain employee theft. Marketing “bonded” without CGL misleads customers.

What bond and insurance does Oregon require for residential locksmith contractors?

ORS 701.081(5): surety bond $15,000 and GL not less than $100,000, plus a responsible managing individual certified as a locksmith. Source: ORS 701.081.

Does NYC require a locksmith surety bond?

The current DCWP Locksmith License Application Checklist does not list a surety bond or GL dollar. Local Law 183 of 2025 moves to a Locksmith Business license on May 31, 2027 — re-check DCWP for any new insurance/bond checklist then. Sources: DCWP checklist; LL183 note.

California — BSIS or CSLB or both?

BSIS licenses the locksmith company / registers employees. If work at a single site exceeds $500, CSLB contractor licensing (often C-28) also applies, bringing the $25,000 contractor bond (and LLC GL/worker-bond rules). Sources: BSIS fact sheet; CSLB bonds.

Do I need inland marine / tools coverage?

Usually not as a locksmith-license statute — but tools and key machines in vans are high-theft. Inland marine is recommended practice, especially for mobile shops. Ask your agent to schedule equipment.

What about E&O for locksmiths?

Most locksmith license statutes verified here mandate CGL and/or surety, not E&O. E&O can still matter if you design master-key systems, electronic access, or give professional advice. Do not invent a statewide E&O mandate unless a primary source requires it.

If I install keypads and mag locks, is my locksmith policy enough?

Not always. NJ raises GL to $1M for alarm or combined businesses; TX uses separate company classifications (locksmith vs electronic access control vs alarm). Get the right license and confirm the COI matches the work.

Can I skip workers’ comp if I’m solo?

Often only if you truly have no employees and your state allows it. Hiring a tech usually ends the exemption. Texas is different (WC optional for most private employers) but DPS locksmith liability insurance remains mandatory for the company license. LA OSFM notes WC when you have employees. Sources: TDI nonsubscribers; LA PPE locksmith PDF.

Bottom line

Locksmith insurance is mostly WC law + commercial auto + locksmith/private-security board floors + contract asks — not a neat federal “locksmith policy” statute. New Jersey’s $500k/$1M + $10k bond, Illinois’ $1M DE-INS, Virginia’s $1M aggregate, Texas Chapter 1702 floors, California’s BSIS/CSLB dual path, and Maryland / Louisiana / Alabama / Oregon board dollars are the headline traps. Everywhere else: soft language, confirm the board and the city, and assume the market still wants $1M/$2M with real endorsements. And for the love of key control — stop treating “bonded” like it means insured.

Get the coverage right. Then run the vans like an operator. For the license card side of the same map, see Locksmith License Requirements by State (2026). For Tri-state license chaos, see NY / NJ locksmith license (2026). For the ops side, start with best dispatch software for locksmiths.

Route the Lockouts. Stay Covered.

Vortech Pro routes jobs, tracks techs, and keeps job notes tidy while you stay on top of COIs and board rules. $99/mo includes 5 techs. Add techs at +$20. No contracts. No upsells.